Curriculum Scope & Sequence – English

Grade: 7

Texts: Writing & Grammar Grade Seven, various novels and plays (The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Kidnapped, The Diary of Anne Frank, The Hobbit, Escape from Warsaw)

Grade: 8

Texts: Writing & Grammar Grade Eight, various novels and plays (The Golden Fleece, A Christmas Carol, Across Five Aprils, Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry)

Grade: 9

Texts: Writing and Grammar Ruby Level, The Crucible, Our Town, To Kill a Mockingbird , The Old Man and the Sea, various short stories and poems

 Grade: 10

Texts: Writing & Grammar Diamond Level, A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Twelfth Night, Measure for Measure, The Winter’s Tale, The Tempest, various short stories and poem

 Grade: 11

Texts: Silas Marner; Animal Farm; Wuthering Heights; Jane Eyre; Far from the Madding Crowd; Cry, the Beloved Country; Great Gatsby; The Oedipus Cycle

Grade: 12

Texts: Writing & Grammar Diamond Level, Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Last of the Mohicans, Romeo and Juliet, Macbeth, Hamlet, Julius Caesar, Othello, and Henry IV Part I